Curriculum Vitae

Work Experience

2022–nowProfessor, UC Santa Barbara Computer Science Dept.
2016–2022Associate Professor, UC Santa Barbara Computer Science Dept.
2016–2017Visiting Researcher, Google Inc.
2009–2015Assistant Professor, UC Santa Barbara Computer Science Dept.
2001–2009Graduate RA/TA, University of Texas at Austin Computer Science Dept.
1997–2001Lieutenant, United States Air Force


Professional Activities

Conference Chair

2023Code Generation and Optimization (CGO) Program Committee Chair
2016Programming Language Design and Implementation (PLDI) Student Research Competition Chair and Student Volunteers Chair

Conference Program Committee Member

2013, 2016, 2019, 2022Code Generation and Optimization (CGO)
2015, 2021, 2024Programming Language Design and Implementation (PLDI)
2021International Conference on Code Quality (ICCQ)
2019Static Analysis Symposium (SAS)
2018LLVM Student Research Competition
2015, 2016SoCal Programming Languages and Systems Workshop
2014Working Conference on Source Code Analysis and Manipulation (SCAM)
2014Programming Language Design and Implementation (PLDI) Student Research Competition
2013Workshop on Tools for Automatic Program Analysis (TAPAS)
2013Compiler Construction (CC)
2013Foundations of Software Engineering (FSE)

Conference External Review Committee Member

2023Architectural Support for Programming Languages and Operating Systems (ASPLOS)
2020Object-Oriented Programming, Systems, Languages, and Applications (OOPSLA)
2016European Conference on Object-Oriented Programming (ECOOP)
2010, 2012, 2014Programming Language Design and Implementation (PLDI)

Teaching and Advising

PhD Advisees

Peter Boyland 
Zach Sisco 
Harlan Kringen 
Hitomi Nakayama 
Jingtao Xia 
Mehmet Emre2022
Michael Christensen2021
Lawton Nichols2019
Kyle Dewey2017
Madhukar Kedlaya2015
Vineeth Kashyap2014

MS Advisees

Henry Zhang2023
Bryan Xu2023
Jacqueline Mai2021
Ryan Schroeder2021
Ethan Kuefner2015
Jared Roesch2015
Kevin Frances2011

Undergraduate Research Students

University Service

System-Level Committees

2023–2024University Committee on Educational Policy (member)

Campus-Level Committees

2023–2024Undergraduate Council (chair)
2023–2024Executive Council (member)
2023–2024Faculty Legislature (member)
2023–2023Contingency Planning Group (member)
2023–2023Task Force on Disabled Students Program (member)
2021–2023Undergraduate Council (member)

Department-Level Individual Positions

2020–2023Undergraduate Vice Chair
2022–2023Computer Engineering Program Coordinator
2020–2021Undergraduate Advisor
2019Undergraduate Vice Chair
2015–2016Computer Engineering Program Associate Director
2015–2016Lead for Undergraduate Advising Restructuring Effort
2011–2016Undergraduate Advisor
2010–2016Faculty Liaison to the ACM Student Chapter

Department-Level Committee Chair

2020–2023Undergraduate Curriculum Committee
2019Undergraduate Curriculum Committee
2018–2019CS Summit Committee
2011–2012Colloquium Committee

Department-Level Committee Member

2023–nowUndergraduate Curriculum Committee
2019–nowCollege of Creative Studies: Computing, Program Committee
2020–2023Undergraduate Affairs Committee
2021–2023LSOE Faculty Recruiting Committee
2021College of Creative Studies Merit/Promotion Personnel Committee
2020–2022Phelps Covid-19 Building Committee
2020–2021Academic Program Review (PRP) Committee
2020College of Creative Studies Merit/Promotion Personnel Committee
2020Undergraduate Curriculum Committee
2020Curriculum Assessment Task Force
2019Undergraduate Affairs Committee
2019LSOE Faculty Recruiting Committee
2018–2019Undergraduate Affairs Committee
2015–2016Computer Engineering Recruiting Committee
2015–2016Computer Engineering Seminar Committee
2015–2016Computer Engineering Undergraduate Curriculum Committee
2014ABET Self-Assessment Committee
2009–2011Undergraduate Curriculum Committee

Last Updated: February 2024